Members' Login

Gold, Gold, Gold . . . The Wallabies’ Olympic Inspiration for the Opening Bledisloe Cup Match of 2016

  • 70,000 fans expected at Stadium Australia for the Wallabies’ monster Bledisloe Cup clash with the All Blacks Saturday 20 August;
  • Stadium Australia will host Australia’s only Bledisloe Cup Test for 2016;
  • The Wallabies have a proud record at Stadium Australia, with the All Blacks – despite their recent dominance – having not won in Sydney since 2013.

Julian Keith

SYDNEY Olympic Park will have a distinctly golden glow as more than 70,000 fans flow into the precinct on Saturday 20 August for Australia’s only home Bledisloe Cup Test of 2016.

In the countdown to kick-off of the opening game of The 2016 Rugby Championship, which will double as the opening game of the famous Bledisloe Cup, Stadium Australia will have a golden halo as projections light up Sydney’s Olympic venue and other buildings in the precinct, including Olympic Park Station.

For golden good measure, fans will be able to tap into the Aussie Olympic spirit on display at the Rio Olympics, with highlights beamed on the big screens in Cathy Freeman Park – named, of course, after Australia’s legendary golden girl from the 2000 Olympics.

The Olympic cauldron will also burn in Cathy Freeman Park on Bledisloe Cup night.

The Wallabies scored a famous 27-19 win over the All Blacks at Stadium Australia last year to win The Rugby Championship in front of a heaving crowd of 73,824. The year before they fought out a tough 12-12 draw with the All Blacks in Sydney.

Tickets for the monster clash are here.

Fans travelling to Sydney Olympic Park on Saturday 20 August will be able enjoy a massive pre-game party, kicking off at 4pm.

With live entertainment, a monster marquee and 50m bar, pop-up cafes and the entire precinct bathed in gold there’ll be no better way to start the sporting feast than the party rockin’ and rollin’ outside Stadium Australia.

There will also be theming inside the Stadium and the Wallabies’ vocal supporters’ group The Gold Brigade will take up residence in the northern stands. 

Fans are strongly encouraged to take advantage of the cost of public transport being included in all tickets to the Bledisloe Cup game. For all the details check out the Transport NSW page here

If driving to the event, it is essential you pre-book your parking at Sydney Olympic Park. Go here to book your parking.

With the Bledisloe Cup game fast approaching – plus finals footy, the historic first Sydney Derby between Western Sydney Wanderers and Sydney FC in October, plus two Arsenal FC blockbusters in 2017 – there is no better time to join as an Stadium Australia Member. Click here for more information. With guaranteed seating, you’ll have prime views, access to exclusive areas and VIP Dining at all events.

Or why not experience these epic sporting battles from the comfort of a Corporate Suite? Enjoy world-class facilities, five-star hospitality and brilliant views of the game from your Centreline Seats, Zone Box seats or Private Suite. More information here.


Wallabies squad for The Rugby Championship:

Allan Alaalatoa, Adam Ashley-Cooper, Adam Coleman, Quade Cooper, Kane Douglas, Scott Fardy, Israel Folau, Bernard Foley, Nick Frisby, Will Genia, Matt Giteau, James Hanson, Dane Haylett-Petty, Reece Hodge, Michael Hooper, Rob Horne, Sekope Kepu, Samu Kerevi, Tevita Kuridrani, Ben McCalman, Sean McMahon, Drew Mitchell, Luke Morahan, Stephen Moore (captain), Dean Mumm, Nick Phipps, David Pocock, Tatafu Polota-Nau, Tom Robertson, Rob Simmons, Scott Sio, Will Skelton, James Slipper, Toby Smith, Lopeti Timani, Matt Toomua.


All Blacks squad for Bledisloe Cup Tests

Dane Coles, Hikawera Elliot, Keven Mealamu, Codie Taylor, Wyatt Crockett, Charlie Faumuina, Ben Franks, Owen Franks, Nepo Laulala, Joe Moody, Tony Woodcock, James Broadhurst, Brodie Retallick, Luke Romano, Jeremy Thrush, Sam Whitelock, Sam Cane, Jerome Kaino, Richie McCaw (capt), Liam Messam, Kieran Read, Matt Todd, Victor Vito, Tawera Kerr-Barlow, TJ Perenara, Aaron Smith, Beauden Barrett, Daniel Carter, Colin Slade, Lima Sopoaga, Ryan Crotty, Malakai Fekitoa, Ma’a Nonu, Conrad Smith, Sonny Bill Williams, Israel Dagg, Nehe Milner-Skudder, Patrick Osborne, Charles Piutau, Julian Savea, Ben Smith.


Event Partners