Members' Login

The A-league Returns To Anz Stadium – The Scene Of Many Of Australian Football’s Greatest Moments

Crystelle Cordero

THE Hyundai A-League will return to Stadium Australia this winter with four matches played from 1 to 11 August as the 2019/20 season resumes after the COVID-19 lockdown.

The Sydney Olympic Stadium has been the scene of so many of Australian football’s most iconic moments and will also host the Final of the upcoming 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup.

And while the crowds that attend the upcoming A-League games will pale by comparison, the significance of the events will not be lost on football fans who understand the journey as sport resumes in Australia.

Stadium Australia will provide the Hyundai A-League with a world-class pitch and a bio-secure venue for its games, with Stadium operator VenuesLive and government agency Venues NSW, on behalf of the NSW Government, fully supporting football and Australian sport in this challenging season.

The Stadium Australia games will be:

  • Saturday 1 August: Melbourne City v Sydney FC (5pm);
  • Thursday 6 August: Adelaide v Sydney FC (7.30pm);
  • Monday 10 August: Brisbane Roar v Sydney FC (7.30pm);
  • Tuesday 11 August: Melbourne City v Adelaide United (7.30pm).

FFA’s Head of Leagues, Greg O’Rourke, has ensured that the revised schedule has the minimal number of changes to the fixtures that were released earlier this month.

“The remainder of the Hyundai A-League 2019/20 Season will now see the 27 matches played over 34 days with the Hyundai A-League 2020 Finals Series moved back a week,” said O’Rourke.

“We have been able to keep in place 20 of the 27 matches that we announced previously and the Hyundai A-League 2020 Grand Final will now be scheduled for Sunday 30 August.

“I would like to thank the Hyundai A-League clubs, venues and our broadcast partners, in particular FOX SPORTS, for their support in developing this revised match schedule.

“Fans may be able to attend some matches and will also be able to watch on FOX SPORTS, SKY Sport (NZ), ABC TV, Kayo Sports and the MyFootball Live App.

“The scene is now set for an exciting finish to the season,” concluded O’Rourke.

Key Points

  • 27 regular season matches will be played in 34 days (17 July – 19 August 2020)
  • First regular season match: Sydney FC v Wellington Phoenix @ Netstrata Jubilee Stadium, Friday 17 July 2020 (Kick-Off 7:30pm (AEST)
  • Last regular season match: Western United FC v Melbourne City FC @ Netstrata Jubilee Stadium, Wednesday 19 August 2020 (Kick-Off 7:30pm (AEST)
  • Hyundai A-League 2020 Finals Series will begin on Saturday 22 August 2020
  • Hyundai A-League 2020 Grand Final scheduled for Sunday 30 August 2020
  • Six (6) Venues to be used
    • Stadium Australia (NSW)
    • Bankwest Stadium (NSW)
    • CBUS Stadium (QLD)
    • Central Coast Stadium (NSW)
    • McDonald Jones Stadium (NSW)
    • Netstrata Jubilee Stadium (NSW)
  • Two (2) Double-Headers
    • Saturday 25 July 2020 @ Bankwest Stadium (Wellington Phoenix v Adelaide United – Kick-Off 5:00pm (AEST) & Melbourne Victory v Western United FC – Kick-Off 7:30pm (AEST))
    • Wednesday 12 August 2020 @ Bankwest Stadium (Perth Glory v Western United FC – Kick-Off 5:35pm (AEST) & Western Sydney Wanderers FC v Melbourne Victory– Kick-Off 8:10pm (AEST))

Event Partners