Members' Login

Mike Hussey signs with Sydney Thunder

James Conway

‘MR. Cricket’ Mike Hussey has signed to play for the Sydney Thunder next season – a move that has been described as the biggest in the history of the KFC T20 Big Bash League.

Having retired from international cricket in January, the charismatic left-hander will add plenty of experience, natural ability and will-to-win to a young team with enormous potential.

“I’m extremely excited about joining the Sydney Thunder and having the opportunity to be part of a young, energetic side that will represent the west of Sydney with pride,” Hussey said.

“The team and the area have enormous potential and I hope that I can bring my experience to help get the best out of the side and develop the talented playing group that we have.”

The 38-year-old arrived by helicopter for the announcement at Stadium Australia – the place he now calls home.

“It will be exciting to play at Stadium Australia next season and we look forward to playing positive cricket and making the members and fans proud.”

Hussey will join Michael Clarke who has also re-signed with the Thunder for BBL|03.

The Aussie skipper heaped praise on his new teammate and looks forward to a promising summer with the Thunder.

“Mike is an outstanding cricketer and a great team man and the experience and abilities as a player that Mike will bring, will be of enormous benefit to the squad of players that we have,” Clark said.

“I look forward to working closely with Mike when I have the opportunity to be part of the Thunder this season.”

Hussey, a 79-Test veteran, is looking forward to helping the exciting Sydney franchise reach their potential when the Big Bash League begins in December.

“I look forward to working closely with Coach Chandika and Michael Clarke to make sure that the squad are ready to go once the season starts,” Hussey said.

Hussey will captain the side when Michael Clarke is unavailable.

With five players already under contract, the Thunder have added Mike Hussey, Michael Clarke, Gurinder Sandhu, Chris Tremain, Kurtis Patterson, Daniel Hughes and one of the world’s best T20 bowlers Dirk Nannes to the squad.

The current Sydney Thunder squad is:

Michael Clarke (C)
Mike Hussey
Cameron Borgas
Ryan Carters
Scott Coyte
Luke Doran
Jason Floros
Daniel Hughes
Dirk Nannes
Kurtis Patterson
Gurinder Sandhu
Chris Tremain

Event Partners